“Journey” 3D Diptych

Posted: June 20, 2014 by Fieldmechanik in Reblogged

For Whom the Gear Turns

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I created a travel-themed diptych for my parents as part of my Kickstarter campaign, but I didn’t get a chance to take a picture of the shadow boxes in situ before I left for Greece. My mom took a couple shots for me so now I can give you little window into how I get from start to finish. I can’t really do a tutorial exactly because there is a lot of madness and only a bit of method, but I hope anyone who is looking for tips on how to create your own work of art will find it helpful.

So here is the finished product:

Journey diptych Journey diptych

Journey diptych panel close up 1Journey diptych panel 2

But how did I get from point A to point B? Let’s take a look.

I start each shadow box with a canvas. This is the largest expense in each shadow box so I try…

View original post 847 more words

Leave a Reply

