Wargames, from Airfix to Wyrd

Posted: January 25, 2014 by Big Rich in Reblogged

games

workbenchwarrior's Blog

Hi there all,

Today I’m going to look at some of the rule systems I have played and what, in my opinion, makes a good rule system. When I was about ten I started playing with toy soldiers and very soon after realised that some kind of system was required to govern or control and to add an element of randomness to their actions. This was, I think, more than anything else to add an element of chance or fate? that was out of my control and thus provide me with more of a sense of uncertainty as to the outcome. My first laughable attempts involved simply rolling a six sided die to govern first how many models could move and then a second roll for the lucky few to decide how far they could move. Shooting was simple; everyone was considered to be in range and needed a 6…

View original post 981 more words

Leave a Reply

