To Con or not to Con – that is a Steampunk author’s question

Posted: May 13, 2013 by Big Rich in Reblogged

Reblogged – This is actually a legit question. Depends on location and $$$$$.

The Volcanolady's Blog

For an author or a budding author, is it worth one’s time, energy, and money to attend Steampunk conventions and events.  After reading an article by Jay Lake, the Guest of Honor at Gaslight Gathering (San Diego) 2013, one might conclude the answer is no.  But I would like to differ (with much respect to Mr. Lake as he brings up many good points and does not entirely discourage his fellow authors.)  The gist of his article is that Sci Fi conventions are author friendly where Steampunk conventions are not: so why bother?  (FYI, I am not quoting Mr. Lake below, I’m just summerizing what he and a few others have suggested.)

A little background: I’ve been a Geek all my life.  Prior to getting published, I wanted to be a comic book artist.  I highly recommend trying and FAILING in a big way – which I did.  I’m not…

View original post 698 more words

Comments
  1. Thank you for reblogging. I think this is an important topic for the up and coming world of Steampunk conventions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

